Saturday, November 1, 2008

New Church Location!

Hope to see you all Sunday at 11AM in the new church location.
912 Colburn St.
Toledo, OH 43609

Friday, June 8, 2007

Thursday, June 7, 2007

Friday, June 1, 2007

Church History


Easter Sunday April 16, 2007 forty-two people met in a banquet room at the Clarion Hotel of Toledo Ohio to worship their Lord and Savior Jesus Christ. The message delivered was taken from Luke 24:1-9 and 1 Corinthians 15:55 and titled “The Grave Couldn’t Hold Him”.

This was the beginning of a new mission movement in our community. Rev. John D. Walthall III, preacher, teacher and a former pastor, had a vision of a congregation that was a big family working together in Christian Service. A ministry that addresses the total person and focuses on “practical application”of Scripture. Rev. Walthall shared this vision with his wife Edith, who had served Christ with together with him for over 25 years of ministry. Together they stepped out on faith on this mission for Christ.

After a few weeks of worship meetings and being blessed with more persons Rev. Walthall’s pastor Rev. Dr. John E. Roberts, the Pastor of Indiana Avenue Missionary Baptist Church and several other pastors and deacons visited a meeting and agreed that this mission was ready to become a viable congregation in our community.

Sunday April 30, 2007 at 7:00 PM in the sanctuary of the Indiana Avenue Missionary Baptist Church Pastor John E. Roberts, Pastor Willie Perryman of Jerusalem Missionary Baptist Church and Moderator of the New Light District Baptist Association; Pastor Theodis Horton of Shiloh Missionary Baptist Church and President of the Baptist Minister’s Conference of Toledo and Vicinity; Pastor Gerald O. Fletcher of New Light Missionary Baptist Church and Dean of the New Light District Baptist Association; Pastor Clifford Mayes of Macedonia Missionary Baptist Church; Bishop James Murchison of St. James Missionary Baptist Church and many other clergy and deacons along with a host of well wishers gathered to help organize this congregation.

The Mount Ararat Missionary Baptist Church was organized that evening after the reading of the Church Resolution, Statement of Purpose, Reverend John D. Walthall III was selected by unanimous vote to be the Pastor and 36 joined the congregation as founding members.

The following are the names of the founding members:

Sister Anita Bailey

Brother Clifford Coleman

Brother John Devalt

Brother Jon’a Devalt

Sister Sharon Devalt

Brother Adrian Epps

Sister Ashleigh Epps

Sister Barbara Epps

Sister LaKata Epps

Mother Anna Gardner

Sister Carlinda Garrett

Rev. Bill Garrett

Brother Alex Griffin

Sister Amanda Griffin

Sister Erica Griffin

Sister Perlean Griffin

Rev. Alvin Griffin

Sister Marilyn Henson

Brother William Jackson

Brother Adarius kling

Sister Ellena Lee

Sister Micah Lee

Sister Tai Lee

Sister Brenda McCorvey

Brother McDavid McCorvey

Sister Brenda McKinney

Brother Edward McKinney

Sister Ethel Rhodes

Mother Mary Temple

Sister Edith Walthall

Mother Geneva Walthall

Brother John D. Walthall IV

Sister Brandi Walthall-McNeal

Deacon James Williams

Sister Carolyn Young The message delivered was taken from Luke 24:1-9 and 1 Corinthians 15:55 and titled “The Grave Couldn’t Hold Him”.

Welcome to Mount Ararat!

Welcome to the official blog of:

Mt Ararat Missionary Baptist
2934 Douglas Rd
Toledo, OH 43606
(419) 472-8747